Rich in history and style
This house is a classic example of a weatherboard Victorian Italianate villa and is included in the heritage overlay. It is double-fronted, with a veranda, bay windows and a slated M-hip roof.
Parts of the mid section of the house date back to the mid 1950s when timber merchant William Kerr, built its first seven rooms.
Since then it has housed many interesting locals. In the late 1870s, it was sold to James McIntyre, a master mariner, a pilot and part owner of the Melbourne Steamship Company.
Around 1900 it was sold to James Scott who constructed the current house in 1910 using some of the parts from the original 1856 house such as the multi-paned windows. The house remained in the Scott family until 1985, with the passing of Robina Scott who co-founded a kindergarten named in her honour in 1934.
Today this house stands as the Williamstown Ear Nose and Throat Specialty Centre.
Take note of the front fence. The original double palisade timber picket fence, with shepherds-crook posts has been replaced by an Edwardian-era reproduction.
Look for the pergola, which appears to date from the 1920s and the cast iron ornament and structure supporting the ogee-profile veranda iron roof.